About Algeria

Official Name: People´s Democratic Republic of Algeria.
Shape of the State: Republic.
National anthem: Qassamen.
President: H.E.M. Abdelmadjid Tebboune.
Capital: Algiers.

Main Cities:  Algiers, Oran, Constantine, Annaba, Setif, Tlemcen, Ouargla, Beja¡a, Batna, Biskra, Ghardaïa, Tizi Ouzou, Skikda, Jijel, Mostaganem, Bordj Bou Arreridj, Djelfa, M'sila, Tamanrasset, Tindouf, Djanet.
Administrative Organization: 58 Wilayas (Provinces), 535 Daïras (Sub-Prefectures), 1541 Communes (Municipalities)
Area: 2, 381, 741 km2.
Neighboring Countries: Tunisia, Libya, Niger, Mali, Mauritania, Western Sahara, Morocco.
Climate: A Mediterranean climate in North, a semi-arid climate in Highlands, desert climate in the South.
Time Zone: GMT+1.

Official Languages: Arabic, Tamazight.
Telephone code: + 213.
National code of domains:DZ.
Religion: Islam.
Currency: Algerian Dinar (DZD).
Population: 43,9 million inhabitants on January 1st, 2020.
Average density: 16.08 inhabitants/km2.
Life expectancy:
Men: 75.12 years
Women: 77.72 years

Population distribution by age:
Less than 19 years: 39%
Between 19 and 64 years: 56%
More than 65 years: 5%

Working days: Sunday to Thursday
Legal Holidays:
1- National Holidays:
- Day of Independence (July 5th)
- National Day: November 1st (Launching of Liberation War in 1954)
- YENNAYER (Amazigh New Year): (12 January)
2- Civil Holidays:
- Labor Day (May 1st)
- New Year´s Day (January 1st)
3- Religious holidays:
- Aïd-El-Fitr (2 days)
- Aïd-El-Adha (2 days)
- Awwal Muharram
- Ashura
- El Mawlid en-Nabawi